Champagne Chrysalis

by divinedirtclod23

Mouthful of caterpillars,

I don’t let them

Enjoy their chrysalis before

I blow

My personality

Explodes into rooms

Like the police who kick in doors

Of brown people like me

Raised to take myself too seriously

I autograph my personality on the walls of

Everyone I meet

Hoping for impact rather than respect

I flood the basements of logic with my malapropisms of

Grace hell bent on being more free verse than haiku

Everybody likes haiku

But who remembers haiku?

My mind was cocooned until the age of 21

When I started staying up all night

Swearing the sun was up the whole time

Swallowing mouthfuls of the moon

I got drunk on myself for the first time and was

Engulfed in my multitudes

Sometimes I get too big

Perhaps that will take a toll

But for now I’m swallowing the ocean for the

Times I swallowed myself for others